Protiviti / SharePoint Blog

SharePoint Blog

August 30
Office 365 Tip: Recycle Bin Options

​It’s bound to happen, the wrong thing will get deleted. Everyone has experienced the panic of looking for something and not finding it where they last worked on it. No matter how much you train your users, govern permissions and try to make sure that the right people have the right permissions content will get lost. While SharePoint has had the concept of a Recycle Bin for many iterations there are a few more options available to Office 365 users that should be discussed.

 
I accidently lost my document! Site Level Recycle Bins
Deleting a document once it is no longer needed is an important aspect of records management. It is a best practice to ensure that users know how and why they should delete data. There will still be the occasional situation where a user needs to recover deleted data for one reason or the other. The majority of lost data requests are related to specific documents or versions of a document. The Site Recycle Bin is available to users on every site and is intended to act like a Recycle Bin on your desktop, temporarily storing deleted files (as well as lists and libraries) until a process runs to permanently deleted them from the computer. A Site Recycle Bin stores deleted documents, list items, versions, lists and libraries for a 90 days or until a user manually deletes or restores them from the Recycle Bin.



 
I accidentally deleted my site! Second Stage (Site Collection) Recycle Bin
SharePoint Online (available through Office 365) provides a second level safety net for recovering items and the added benefit off being able to recover deleted sub-sites. The Second stage recycle bin is accessible only to Site Collection Administrators and items that are stored in there do not count towards the site quota (Note: Deleted sub-sites do still count toward site quotas).  Items in the Second stage recycle bin are kept for 90 days from when they are added there, so items automatically deleted from a Site recycle bin will be available to administrators for a total of 180s days before being automatically deleted for the final time.


 
Notes and tips
-  Because sub-sites still count towards your site quota it is important to remember to delete large sub-sites from the second stage recycle bin. This should be the final step of a site cleanup process and confirmed/documented with the site owner.
- Unlike other versions of SharePoint you cannot configure the retention settings for either recycle bin. They are both set to automatically delete items a 90 days after they are added to the recycle bin.
- End users with Contribute or greater permissions to the site will have access to the Recycle Bin. Only Site Collection Administrators have access to the second stage recycle bin.

Want to learn more Office 365 Tips? Join us in Chicago, Houston, Minneapolis, Atlanta and Washington, DC for complimentary roundtables discussing "When to Use What in Office 365". Learn more here!
 

Quick Launch


© Protiviti 2020. All rights reserved.   |   Privacy Policy